top of page

Girls Like Girls by Hayley Kiyoko


Spoiler-Free Synopsis


It’s summertime and 17-year-old Coley has found herself alone, again. Forced to move to rural Oregon after just losing her mother, she is in no position to risk her already fragile heart. But when she meets Sonya, the attraction is immediate.


Coley worries she isn't worthy of love. Up until now, everyone she's loved has left her. And Sonya's never been with a girl before. What if she's too afraid to show up for Coley? What if by opening her heart, Coley's risking it all?


They both realize that when things are pushed down, and feelings are forced to shrivel away, Coley and Sonya will be the ones to shrink. It’s not until they accept the love they fear and deserve most, that suddenly the song makes sense.


Based on the billboard-charting smash hit song and viral music video GIRLS LIKE GIRLS, Hayley Kiyoko's debut novel is about embracing your truth and realizing we are all worthy of being loved back.

 

Man, oh man, do I have some stuff to say.


Firstly, I do want to note that I really did think I was gonna enjoy this Sapphic read. Like, really. The song was amazing, the MV comparability was on point, and the synopsis is definitely enough to gather my interest.

And it did! For a little bit. The character introduction with Sonya played in my head much rather like a corny Disney show. But hey, if they met the way they met, I'll just have to deal with the awkwardtisidy (Is that even a word?!) of the beginning. But as Sonya is introduced, we're introduced to the rest of the gang. SJ, Trenton, Alex, and I believe a few others, I don't have the book on hand with me currently.

I wanna make a key note here as well, Trenton is a jerk. Like, a big one. Like he seems like Disney channel blonde "Chad" who's on the football team kinda jerk. The kind I just imagine with a rather punchable face.

I could really banter on about the kind of person he is and the vibes he gives, TBH.

But anyways, the romance between Sonya and Coley starts as small as the separate skin cells on your hand, but gradually develops into something I honestly have no label to.

And here come my complaints:


Hayley wrote this really well within the first 200 pages, like really well. As mentioned, the plot, the dialogue-- Really, what is wrong with the people who say teenagers don't talk like this? I mean, sure some of the dialogue is pretty rough, but otherwise, I'd say it's pretty accurate-- characters, slow burn, and feeling was written really well. It was just the closing that I'd say needs some work.


Firstly, Coley and Sonya are a toxic couple.

Sonya ditched Coley when she wasn't sure what she was feeling, kept reeling with Mr. Chad no matter what he did, and then dragged herself back to Coley whenever she felt the need to give herself pity. I mean, come on! Coley, girl, you can do better than that.

Secondly, the ending was extremely rushed. Like when I say extremely, I mean like last page was quite literally "I want you." extremely.

Again, no hate to the song nor music video. Both were really good. The song gives '06 vibes, and the pairing book with the AIM Messages and Live Journal really gave it the kick it needed.


To sum it up, I'd give about 2.5-3 stars. Really don't know what else to give it other than that.

Hoped I would enjoy, but unfortunately disappointed me in a way I'd rather not discuss in.


⭐⭐


35 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page