top of page

Leaving Paradise by Simone Elkles


Spoiler-Free Synopsis


Nothing has been the same since Caleb Becker left a party drunk, got behind the wheel, and hit Maggie Armstrong. Even after months of painful physical therapy, Maggie walks with a limp. Her social life is nil and a scholarship to study abroad—her chance to escape everyone and their pitying stares—has been canceled.


After a year in juvenile jail, Caleb’s free . . . if freedom means endless nagging from a transition coach and the prying eyes of the entire town. Coming home should feel good, but his family and ex-girlfriend seem like strangers.


Caleb and Maggie are outsiders, pigeon-holed as "criminal" and "freak." Then the truth emerges about what really happened the night of the accident and, once again, everything changes. It’s a bleak and tortuous journey for Caleb and Maggie, yet they end up finding comfort and strength from a surprising source: each other.

 

MY REVIEW:

"Everyone has secrets."

no. because there is no way it ended like that.


See, I usually hate ebooks. I usually do. But when I saw this, I needed tp read it.


My public library currently doesn't own and print copy of this book, but they did have the ebook. I checked it out and gave it a chance. FREAK THAT cause I couldn't keep my eyes off.


BUT TO BE 100% HONEST?

I found another guy I love. Caleb.


I mean, what is there not to like?

People never gave him a chance, no matter what. That kind of ticked me off. They only viewed him as an ex-con, and never let him speak up. His family was weird, and he found secrets that he never thought he'd hear from his own home, and discovered things about himself he never thought he knew. I OVERALL love his personality. Obviously, he's trying to fix every mistake he ever made from before. The accident? Yup, he's trying to make it up. The arguments? Yup, he's trying to make it up. And no one is forgiving him!


Maggie is a sweet dear character. I think she's a crybaby, but in all seriousness, I would probably react the same amount of times she is throughout this book. I'd probably freak out every time I saw him. I'd probably never want to speak to him, but I still believe she was alittle bit selfish at points. She never wanted to hear his side. She never wanted to forgive him (Until later on, where the romance happens, duh).


BUT THE SLOW BURN- 🥴🥴 IT DROVE ME CRAZY.


Every second, every moment, every single time I read that they were in a room together I just hoped for the best, and EVENTUALLY THE BEST CAME!


But let's get one thing out of the way, okay?


WHY WOULD YOU END IT LIKE THAT??


🎶 (insert cheesy sudden ending music here) 🎶

 

OVERALL:

🎄🎄🎄🎄🎄

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page