top of page

Return to Paradise by Simone Elkeles


Spoiler-Free Synopsis

Caleb Becker left Paradise eight months ago, taking with him the secret he promised to take to his grave. If the truth got out, it would ruin everything.


Maggie Armstrong tried to be strong after Caleb broke her heart and disappeared. Somehow, she managed to move on. She's determined to make a new life for herself.


But then Caleb and Maggie are forced together on a summer trip. They try ignoring their passion for each other, but buried feelings resurface. Caleb must face the truth about the night of Maggie's accident, or the secret that destroyed their relationship will forever stand between them.



 

OKAY TO START OFF-

THIS WAS REALLY GOOD.


Of course there were parts where I literally got ticked off at every little moment, but you know, it's alright.


BUT TO SAY: I FINISHED THIS IN ONE DAY.


I would %1000000 percent LOVE to say in one sitting, but I've been at school all day and have been reading this the whole entire time, lol. We leave for break after next week, and I don't think teachers care as of right now because state tests for the half classes have already been taken.


MAGGIE. MAGGIE. MAGGIE. MAGGIE. Stop being self-absorbed. That is the ONLY problem I have with this series. She only focuses on herself. She gets mad and only thinks about the affects of Caleb for HER. She only thinks on HER side. It got quite annoying. But I'm glad that I saw her grow throughout. I mean, she started as the bland-ish not really confident girl. She never stood up for herself, and she just stood there watching everything unfold weakly. BUT AFTER CALEB- he increased her confidence. She stood up to people, and wasn't afraid to speak her mind. Even when Caleb was gone, supposedly she'd dealt with a few of her problems without him. I admit, I'm proud.


CALEB ON THE OTHER HAND-

WOOOOOOOOO. He's a whole 'nother conversation. First of all, he's hurt. Bad. He needs light fixing, and not just rehab or some shazam. No, like he needs people to listen to him and help him. But I'd say Maggie DEFINETLY brought out a soft spot he obviously never knew he had. Especially after prison. He said some HELLA SWEET STUFF.

Let me use this as an example:

"Kiss me, Maggie. Right here, right now."

THAT- THAT IS 🥴👌


This is a character I have been excited to type about the most: Lenny. And he hasn't even been in the book that long!


Lenny is a character that we meet when the two go on a summer trip. He is HUMOUROUS. Like, the side character that everyone needs. Even if you don't admit it, you know you need him. Here are just a few of my favorite quotes from him:


"Who can sleep when we've got Trish the f*****' bulldozer with us?"
"Holy s*** that was freaking awesome! Let's do that again!"
"What? I had to let it rip."
"Wanna pull my finger?"

LENNY IS GOLDEN AND NO ONE CAN TELL ME OTHERWISE!


AND WHY DOES THIS HAVE TO BE THE LAST ONEEEEE??



 

OVERALL:

🎄🎄🎄🎄🎄





14 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

1 Comment


Dr Z
Dr Z
Dec 16, 2021

Sounds very interesting

Wow your goals for 2022 Awesome


Like
bottom of page