top of page

Perfect Chemistry by Simone Elkeles

Updated: Apr 13, 2023


When Brittany Ellis walks into chemistry class on the first day of senior year, she has no clue that her carefully created 'perfect' life is about to unravel before her eyes. She's forced to be lab partners with Alex Fuentes, a gang member from the other side of town, and he is about to threaten everything she's worked so hard for: her flawless reputation, her relationship with her boyfriend, and the secret that her home life is anything but perfect.


Alex is a bad boy and he knows it. So when he makes a bet with his friends to lure Brittany into his life, he thinks nothing of it. But soon Alex realizes Brittany is a real person with real problems, and suddenly the bet he made in arrogance turns into something much more.


In a passionate story about looking beneath the surface, Simone Elkeles breaks through the stereotypes and barriers that threaten to keep Brittany and Alex apart.


 

“I want to know how to make this girl laugh. I want to know what makes her cry. I want to know what it feels like to have her look at me as if I’m her knight in shinning armor.” WOOOOOO! Okay, when I tell you I was FAWNING over each interaction these two had. I mean, each and every thought Alex had was literally managing to have to do with Brittany. Like each small thought and interaction had me over here like:

Just whatttt?! It was too adorable. One thing I definetely have to say about Brittany is that her entire character annoyed the absolute hell out of me. I mean, she was bratty, and she fit the role very well, and I guess she fit the role of growing out of that character fairly well, too. Either way, her character slowly got on my good side.

Now MAY I SAY! There's something about the way little Mrs. Simone Elkeles writes her guys! They're confident, Cocky as hell, seemingly attractive, just smth abt them that gets me riled up for their character. Something about them that has me feigning for their POV and their words. Sure, Alex doesn't beat Caleb BECKER, but he's right there, and it wouldn't take too much for him to reach Caleb.. And can we TALK ABOUT THAT ENDING-

I'm not finna spoil it at all for those who plan to read, but oh my lordy lord, I loved it. Fans of Enemies to Lovers, Slowburn, and Guy Falls First: This is a read for you.


6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page