top of page

Sun Keep Rising by Kristen R. Lee

Updated: May 8, 2023


B'onca always knew how to get by. And then her daughter is born. She wouldn't trade Mia for anything, but there is never enough cash to go around. When their gentrifying Memphis neighborhood results in higher prices and then an eviction notice, B'onca's already fragile world spirals. Desperate to make things right, B'onca forges a risky plan to help pay the bills. But one wrong move could cost B'onca--and her family--everything.











 

Now there is absolutely NO way in hell you decided to end the book like that!


New favorite added to the shelf, not only for the plot, but our main character, B'onca. Her determination and selflessness is literally everything. I loved her character, the way she thought, the way she wanted better for her daughter, Mia, no matter what it took. Even if it took using money she saved for herself, B made sure Mia had "no thoughts of wanting" something.

And may I say, this was so hella nicely written representation! The way Kristen wrote the gradual process of B'onca's eventual plot-twisting decision was just mindblowing. It wasn't rushingly written, every thought popping up at once. It was written in an eventual flow, with small moments of doubt.


And OMG, can we talk abt Dej? Like, did anyone else kind of think of Dejonay from The Proud Family?

Just me? Nice to know, Lol.

But oh my goodness, this was just absolutely a heartwretching book, I'm telling you. Watching the decisons and the conversations between characters were definetely something I can tell you was miraculously written.


And TBH, I'd kinda like to see a second part to this! The way we were just sped past her bail and her question to Trent near the ending threw me off. But I'm going to say, if it's not expanded, I'm glad B got her happy ending.


⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page