top of page

Carrie by Stephen King


Spoiler-Free Synopsis

Carrie knew she should not use the terrifying power she possessed... But one night at her senior prom, Carrie was scorned and humiliated just one time too many, and in a fit of uncontrollable fury she turned her clandestine game into a weapon of horror and destruction...



ON BACK OF BOOK:

Carrie may be picked on by her classmates, but she has a gift. She can move things with her mind. Doors lock. Candles fall. This is her power and her problem. Then, an act of kindness, as spontaneous as the vicious taunts of her classmates, offers Carrie a chance to be normal . . . until an unexpected cruelty turns her gift into a weapon of horror and destruction that no one will ever forget.





 

BLOGGERS' NOTE:


I actually watched the 2013 adaptation BEFORE reading the book. I KNOW I KNOW, that is a bookish rule to NEVER break, but I didn't know at the time it was a book, as I'm not that interested in many of Stephen King's books.


 


"They're all gonna laugh at you!"



MY REVIEW:


This is really good.


I honestly have no idea why I hadn't read the book before watching the movie, because now that I had already known what happened, it kind of spoiled it for me :((


But this was a really good book. I like the small news article references, and seeing the paragraphs from other characters' points of views. Honestly, 100% a creative way to put it.


So, let's talk about Margaret.


She's crazy. I mean, religiously crazy. She believes periods are sinful, a sign from god you've done bad. She believes that hair being grown from anyway aside from the head is sinful as well, and just SO many other things that I can't list.


And I feel really bad for Carrie. Having to live her whole life with her. Living her whole life clueless.


The book starts of introducing everyone, and then the shower scene.


The scene where she gets her first period and LITERALLY thinks she is dying.


"Period?" Carrie said. Her expression of complete unbelief was too genuine, too full of dumb and hopeless horror, to be ignored or denied.

Anddd let's just say everyone in the showers kind of take it the wrong way...


"Plug it up, plug it up, plug it up!"

I WILL end up spoiling this book for many others, but if you HAVE read this book, let me know if I should make a whole blog site for me to blatantly spoil books with a purpose 🤔


🎃🎃🎃🎃🎃



3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page