top of page

Creep: A Love Story by Lygia Day Penaflor

Updated: Jan 18, 2023



Spoiler-Free Synopsis


Laney Villanueva and Nico Fiore are the perfect couple: beautiful, popular, talented, and hopelessly in love. Everyone looks up to them at Holy Family High School.


But Rafi doesn’t just admire them. She watches them. She’s drawn to them.


Intent on becoming their closest friend, Rafi weaves her way into their lives. She starts small: taking photos of the senior class for the yearbook, joining Laney’s club, and babysitting Nico's little sister. And it works—soon they invite her to parties, take her on joyrides, and ask her for favors. Rafi’s actions quickly turn invasive, delving deeper and deeper until she’s consumed by their most intimate secrets.


When tragedy strikes the young lovers, Rafi’s obsession spirals, and she will do anything to keep the perfect couple together. Anything . . .



 


I Did Not Finish This.

I literally got to only page 25 before I decided to put it down. Here's Why:



Okay, so I just really wanna say, the cover is the only thing that gathered my attention. Like, I'm gonna go ahead and be straightforward, the cover is legit the ONLY thing that got my attention.


I was unpacking some new books for my school library when I came across this. I thought the plot sounded good, the cover matched the topic in a secretive and causual kind of way, and I enjoyed that. So I checked it out. Now, I literally just turned it in after getting only 25 pages in yesterday night.

The plot didn't seem to go anywhere. Literally the only thing going on was the stalking within the first chapter, which I know is gonna happen! I mean, it's a thriller, what thriller doesn't have the actual thrill?

But when I say it felt like that was the ONLY THING going on?! Like when our author tried to adjust to topic to go around something else, it didn'd quite seem to go well.



Not only that, but it just didn't have enough going on to keep me pulled in.

Maybe it got worse. Maybe it got better.

We'll never know, because it seemed to be so dragged on that I couldn't even TRY to stay. (But again, I only got to page 25)


So 2 stars from me. And I only added one extra one due to the fact I have no idea what could happen later on.


⭐⭐

9 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

1 Comment


Dr Z
Dr Z
Jan 14, 2023

Sounds interesting can’t wait for the review.

Like
bottom of page