top of page

Good Night Stories for Rebel Girls: 100 Real-Life Tales of Black Girl Magic

Updated: Jan 15, 2022


Spoiler-Free Synopsis

Good Night Stories for Rebel Girls: 100 Real-Life Tales of Black Girl Magic, edited by award-winning journalist Lilly Workneh with a foreword by #BlackGirlMagic originator CaShawn Thompson, is dedicated to amplifying and celebrating the stories of Black women and girls from around the world; features the work of over 60 Black female and non-binary authors, illustrators, and editors; is designed to acknowledge, applaud, and amplify the incredible stories of Black women and girls from the past and present; and celebrates Black Girl Magic around the world.



 

MY REVIEW

Thank you so much, NetGalley and Rebel Girls for sending me an eARC in exchange for an honest review! ** This does NOT impact my review in ANY sort of way! All words said/typed are MY personal opinion **


First of all, I LOVED THIS! From Gabby Douglas to Issa Rae, I enjoyed seeing how different black women impacted the world. I saw people I knew and even people I didn't, I could relate to them! Especially as a young black girl. I love this because as a feminist myself, I don’t notice many black women being represented in these novels about feminism. I don’t see our accomplishments and how far we’ve gotten. I’m glad to see that, and definitely in a children's book!! It’s so comforting to know that young black girls will be able to grow up knowing that they aren’t alone.


The art style is GORGEOUS on black skin! To be 100% honest, I got so excited when I started seeing people I even saw on my TV shows! Issa Rae, Marsai Martin, and much more!


Glad to see people write about us, and in a positive way. It's upbringing, and positive. As mentioned before, it'll make young girls feel more confident and proud in their skin.


Amazing book and I can't wait to be able to buy this as a print copy for my younger sister.


⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️


9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page