top of page

Moxie by Jennifer Mathieu

Updated: Jun 24, 2021


Spoiler-free Synopis

Moxie girls fight back!


Vivian Carter is fed up. Fed up with her small-town Texas high school that thinks the football team can do no wrong. Fed up with sexist dress codes and hallway harassment. But most of all, Viv Carter is fed up with always following the rules.


Viv’s mom was a punk rock Riot Grrrl in the ’90s, so now Viv takes a page from her mother’s past and creates a feminist zine that she distributes anonymously to her classmates. She’s just blowing off steam, but other girls respond. Pretty soon Viv is forging friendships with other young women across the divides of cliques and popularity rankings, and she realizes that what she has started is nothing short of a girl revolution.



I LITERALLY LOVED THIS.

-

Okay. I admit I'm kinda wrong for just randomly springing that comment out of nowhere, but I LOVE THIS BOOK. When I picked it up, I wasn't expecting to go down an absolute rabbit hole of feminism. Like I'm not kidding. What tires me is how the whole world has this one stupid mindset of how feminists act. How we're pushy and give no care for the other genders. We do. What is crazy is that I had that specific stereotype in my freaking mind while picking this book up. Thinking it'll just be a feminist book on a girl who just forces dumb stupid thoughts on people. Anyway, back to the book. I loved it. Not only did I love the bring up on how stupid dress codes are, but I also loved that it shows a young girl getting rid of them. I've had that thought MULTIPLE times. I hated the stupidity of the guys, though. I really did. The list reminded me of the actual book The List. Especially because it has ranks of different girls; and their bodies. It's disgusting how guys only thought of that.


***SPOILERS AHEAD***

A small thing to note is: I read this book at 11 PM, and never finished until around 3 AM the next day. Why so long? Well, I have no idea if this has happened to anyone else, but my body just wouldn't let me continue reading on past this one page. This page was when they found four stickers on the VICE PRINCIPALS CAR- My body wouldn't let me flip the page for about thirty minutes; before remembering I had a copier in my house. I simply copied the page (Not in a way that I would you know share it with other people) and put it in a journal where I write down my favorite books; what they're about; and my favorite page. I literally just couldn't continue reading without knowing that I knew what page it was.



I loved the small references of the Riot Grrrls, it made me so happy. The separate days of dress code-breaking, the zines and so much more. I literally love it. I smiled so much.


I enjoyed this book so much, I really DO NOT want to spoil this book at all for anyone, but what I know is that you should definitely read this book for yourself, it will not disappoint.



⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

留言


bottom of page