top of page

My Opinion About the Texas Book Ban

Updated: Aug 31, 2022

IM SORRY, and YES i already know im just a tadddd bit late on the opinion, but who cares. Anyway, I just wanted to post my personal opinion on the matter.


So in case you have no news of it, Texas Lawmaker Matt Krause wants to ban MANY books from all school libraries. And in case you can't tell..



ALL HELL WENT LOOSE!!


 

And as I noticed, many blogs are putting in their two cents, so I decided why not do the same. So here we go:


My Opinion on the Texas School Book Ban


I had first found out about this from BookRiot, and to be frankly honest: I'm furious.


They banned many books, all the way from Sex Education, Human Rights, ANYTHING That Mentions LGBTQ, Race, ANYTHING that includes information of Teen Pregnancy, and a Few more unknown genres. Here are just a few books that were banned:







 

So as to news, he banned most of these books to prevent "discomfort". Here's my small little tip to people who are uncomfortable with books like these: No offense, but maybe Don't Pick Them Up??


They seemed to have mostly banned LGBTQ books, in which I can see how some people are uncomfortable with this. Many go by the fact it is a sin and just do not want to read them because they make them feel weird. As to add, that still doesn't give reason to Ban them from libraries. As some stated, many members at school read these books to know they feel comforted and aren't alone. Again, can't people just not pick the books up?? Any books that ever so MENTION a character of LGBTQ (whether it is a side character you see once and then never again) the book was indeed banned. (Image from BookRiot)


But what also gets on my nerve is that they have the AUDACITY to ban books within the category of Race and Racism. Apparently the book The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas was banned, and to be 100% honest, very infuriating. I read books about racism to allow myself to learn more about how people think, and history on where it began. As do others.


Mostly books of the main topic Fiction were banned, along with again, LGBTQ and YA.


 

To sum up, here are some stats I'd found again, on BookRiot. (Credit to Them)


  • Fiction: 500 (58.89%)

  • Nonfiction: 349 (41.11%)

  • Adult: 95 (11.19%)

  • YA: 605 (71.26%)

  • Children’s and Middle Grade: 149 (17.55%)

  • LGBTQ: 509 (59.95%), including Trans: 118 (13.95% of total)

  • Race and Racism: 68 (8.01%)

  • Sex Education: 115 (13.55%)

  • Misc: 124 (14.61%), including Pregnancy: 49 (5.77%), Abortion (not Sex Ed): 43 (5.06%), and Unknown 163 (19.20%)

Overall, I do think that this whole ban is unfair. Unjustice and Unfair. Glad to see librarians from all over working and fighting to prevent this, because to be honest, the students of Texas deserve better.


What do YOU think about the ban?


Point concluded, BGR

Out ✌🏾




9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Коментарі


bottom of page