top of page

The Inheritance Games by Jennifer Lynn Barnes

Updated: Oct 14, 2021


Spoiler-Free Synopsis

Avery Grambs has a plan for a better future: survive high school, win a scholarship, and get out. But her fortunes change in an instant when billionaire Tobias Hawthorne dies and leaves Avery virtually his entire fortune. The catch? Avery has no idea why--or even who Tobias Hawthorne is. To receive her inheritance, Avery must move into sprawling, secret passage-filled Hawthorne House, where every room bears the old man's touch--and his love of puzzles, riddles, and codes.


Unfortunately for Avery, Hawthorne House is also occupied by the family that Tobias Hawthorne just dispossessed. This includes the four Hawthorne grandsons: dangerous, magnetic, brilliant boys who grew up with every expectation that one day, they would inherit billions. Heir apparent Grayson Hawthorne is convinced that Avery must be a con-woman, and he's determined to take her down. His brother, Jameson, views her as their grandfather's last hurrah: a twisted riddle, a puzzle to be solved. Caught in a world of wealth and privilege, with danger around every turn, Avery will have to play the game herself just to survive.


MY REVIEW

 

I think I officially have found my boyish boyfriend.


Chapters 2 and 3, we meet all of he guys. Jameson, Grayson, Xander, and Nash.


Now from the start, Jameson straight up had an attractive entrance. Like, he had his remarks and his nicknames he gave people, and I feel as i literally just cant rn. I WOULD DATE HIM/FALL FOR HIM THE MOMENT I MET HIM. 100000000% 😭🥴

BUT CONTINUING ON FROM MY BOOK RELATED ROMANCE, this book was literally amazing.


I've been wanting to get my hands on this book for a longggg time, and I finally got it. #TBH I thought I would hate this: But I don't. Fantasy isn't really my genre, but the way Lynn wrote, she got me into it.


Each page has me wanting more and more, and every time I say "Okay, I'll put this up to focus really quick." I END UP READING FIVE MORE CHAPTERS. That is something more books need.


I know this may not have ANYTHING to do with the book at all whatsoever, but I found one of Adele's older songs, 'Rumor Has It' and I immediately thought of this book. It just goes.



 

I love how she builds more and more onto each other, but not in a negative way: AT ALL. It definitely made sense as time goes on, and you make references as your read. I have my own inference on what's going on, message me if you'd like to know it, as it provides spoilers. :)


But this is definitely a favorite, and not what I was expecting at all. I had no idea I'd be wanting to grab the second book as much as I do now. :P AND WHAT SUCKS is that I have to wait at least 2 WEEKS to get my hands onto it. MAYBE MORE 😭


But I loved this and It's definitely a recommend.


* A more in-depth review WILL be posted after I read the whole series, which sadly will more than likely take a while, as the last book is published NEXT year *


13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

コメント


bottom of page