top of page

The Love Hypothesis by Ali Hazelwood


Spoiler-Free Synopsis

As a third-year Ph.D. candidate, Olive Smith doesn't believe in lasting romantic relationships--but her best friend does, and that's what got her into this situation. Convincing Anh that Olive is dating and well on her way to a happily ever after was always going to take more than hand-wavy Jedi mind tricks: Scientists require proof. So, like any self-respecting biologist, Olive panics and kisses the first man she sees.


That man is none other than Adam Carlsen, a young hotshot professor--and well-known ass. Which is why Olive is positively floored when Stanford's reigning lab tyrant agrees to keep her charade a secret and be her fake boyfriend. But when a big science conference goes haywire, putting Olive's career on the Bunsen burner, Adam surprises her again with his unyielding support and even more unyielding... six-pack abs.


Suddenly their little experiment feels dangerously close to combustion. And Olive discovers that the only thing more complicated than a hypothesis on love is putting her own heart under the microscope.


 

DNF AT 10%.. And Here's Why:

Okay, if you stay up to date with my GoodReads, you know I was literally complaining earlier today about how fast everything is. LIKE REALLY FAST!


We started off with the prologue, which I admit, I hadn't read much of. But of the bits I did glimpse of, I noticed it was literally just her and Carlsen getting a bit of chemistry together. What I AM complaining about is the fact that Ali could've at least given a bit of backgrond as to why she kissed him in the first place. As close as we got to a background was when she was ranting to him. Like- I want some information as to what caused her to kiss this random "A**" of a guy, then over time, but very obviously immediately, caused them to fall in love. I'm dead serious, too.


And after that, it kinda just spiralled down to a worse version of this. I mean, it's literally a 350 page book, and you already shoved everything to happen within the first few pages. He began to get protective of her, spoiler, around chapter four, and appareantly some other issue happens to cause him to actually show his love for her?! (Wish I'd gotten that far. As far as I'd gotten to it was finding the quote on GR and liking it, cause who doesn't lovee a man who accideantlly profounds their love for them?)


But really? I mean I had expected SO much better for this! It was praised on TikTok, Youtube, GoodReads, ZLIBRARY! Come on!


But I'm also a very picky person. VERY Picky. I dislike third person, speedy books (im literally saying this as if the book im writing isn't kinda speedy) , and anything that includes education (hehe, science, oops).


Personally, I disliked this with much of a disliking passion. But if you are one to enjoy third person romance, AND Realistic Ficition (which is fireee btw), then this is the book for you. IF you're one like me; Reading Slump, Picky, Third-Person Hater, and/or Slow Burn ADORER; then this probably is a book you should avoid.


8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Bình luận


bottom of page