top of page

The Weight of Blood by Tiffany D. Jackson

Updated: Dec 9, 2022


Spoiler-Free Synopsis

Author Tiffany D. Jackson ramps up the horror and tackles America’s history and legacy of racism in this YA novel following a biracial teenager as her Georgia high school hosts its first integrated prom.


When Springville residents—at least the ones still alive—are questioned about what happened on prom night, they all have the same explanation... Maddy did it.


An outcast at her small-town Georgia high school, Madison Washington has always been a teasing target for bullies. And she's dealt with it because she has more pressing problems to manage. Until the morning a surprise rainstorm reveals her most closely kept secret: Maddy is biracial. She has been passing for white her entire life at the behest of her fanatical white father, Thomas Washington.


After a viral bullying video pulls back the curtain on Springville High's racist roots, student leaders come up with a plan to change their image: host the school's first integrated prom as a show of unity. The popular white class president convinces her Black superstar quarterback boyfriend to ask Maddy to be his date, leaving Maddy wondering if it's possible to have a normal life.


But some of her classmates aren't done with her just yet. And what they don't know is that Maddy still has another secret... one that will cost them all their lives.


 

OOOOHKAY! I see you, Tiffany!

I really loved this, and when I say I loved it, I mean it.

So I really loved her description within the book, and if you ask me, it sounded better than her previous! Like, really, we need you to rewrite more novels, because this was just **chefs kiss**. First of all, I realllyy wanna say that the moment I'd read that it was a black remake of Carrie, you already had me sold.


Like, really. I enjoyed that you swapped POVs just like Stephen King, the thoughts of the characters, their life situations, everything. I really loved it.

One thing I would complain about, though, would definetely be the lack of understanding (for me) when Maddy first began whiplashing. I was extremely confused the first two pages, continuously going back to see if I'd missed anything. After a bit of this scene, everything began to snap back into place, allowing me to imagine it more depictively.


Now can we talk about Kendrick? Not saying he's a new addition to the boyfriend shelf, but he was definetely one to adore. I liked that he slowly fell in love with Maddy, rather than just instead feeling pity for her (like the original guy within Carrie). While he came about it in a rather violent way, he loved Maddy with all his heart. And I don't blame the violent conpulsivities, because he has very obviously never felt this way before-- not even for Wendy!

I loved the ending, with the interviews, the podcast, the newspaper-- a hot comb as a memorable monument? I would so go-- all of it was amazing.


With the way we ended, I'm just gonna guess Maddy went to South (I believe it was south) Carolina to find her mama. Kenny disappeared, too, so I would love to imagine he went into hiding with Mads, too.


Again, I really loved this novel. Perfect way to end the year. :)


⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page