top of page

Twins by Varian Johnson


Spoiler-Free Synopsis

Maureen and Francine Carter are twins and best friends. They participate in the same clubs, enjoy the same foods, and are partners on all their school projects. But just before the girls start sixth grade, Francine becomes Fran -- a girl who wants to join the chorus, run for class president, and dress in fashionable outfits that set her apart from Maureen. A girl who seems happy to share only two classes with her sister!


Maureen and Francine are growing apart and there's nothing Maureen can do to stop it. Are sisters really forever? Or will middle school change things for good?



MY REVIEW

First of all-


DID I SEE BONNETS?! I literally freaking love you, Varian for adding that. Thank You. I have no words to explain my happiness. And second, I saw Queen Bee!!! Okay, I really CANNOT just drop in random points like that. I'm getting way too excited.


I enjoyed this book SO much. Like I have no words -AHADJD. Okay. So the first page, kinda difficult to understand, either that, or my mind had a mini brain fart when I first got this book. (more than likely a brain fart *poof*) Anyway, I continued reading, and I really enjoyed the small feud between the twins. (not in a weird way, yk what, ill just explainn)- adding a small problem between the twins was a good idea. VERY good. Siblings don't always get along, and I'm sick of so many books thinking it's like that. IT ISNT. We argue over stupid things, especially if my sister signed up for student council PRES when I did too, that would make me SO mad.


Not only did he add representation, but he added small things that black people have to deal with. Like discrimination or racial profiling. When I read that, IT MADE ME LOVE THIS BOOK EVEN MORE. I can relate to the situation the twins went through. I really can. And being racially profiled hurts. It does. Alot.


And the way that it expresses how siblings can be, like separate rooms. I share rooms with my younger sister. I'm getting my own room soon as well, and although I really WANT my own room, i'll miss her. It's gonna be kinda lonely, and I can see where the author attempted to go.


It kind of shows what twins have to go through, like in movies, how people always think they're going to wear matching clothes, or are always going to get along. I can see how that'd get annoyinggg. When they finally become their own people, people don't think they can, and I can see how that'd be kinda triggering.


But I'm going top end up literally describing the whole book (and NOT in a book reviewing way, either.) So read for yourself, and I promise you will NOT regret. :)


⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page