top of page

We Have Always Lived in the Castle by Shirley Jackson


Spoiler-Free Synopsis

Merricat Blackwood lives on the family estate with her sister Constance and her Uncle Julian. Not long ago there were seven Blackwoods—until a fatal dose of arsenic found its way into the sugar bowl one terrible night. Acquitted of the murders, Constance has returned home, where Merricat protects her from the curiosity and hostility of the villagers. Their days pass in happy isolation until cousin Charles appears. Only Merricat can see the danger, and she must act swiftly to keep Constance from his grasp.


 




MY REVIEW


Alright, this wasn't that bad!

I mean, I kinda sorta picked it up out of impulse in a kind of way, but primarily because it sounded hella good. Now, the theme gives me very much... dark academia. And nothing against it! Cause gosh, these playlists I found on Spotify HIT!! The music adds the chilling-like feel to the book, espiscally because it's horror.

Now, I don't really see much horror within this, it just seems like a book that may've been good and popular when it first came out. I mean, it was good enough to keep me intrigued, but it wasn't much to remind me of horror. Honestly, it feels like a fill-in book I'd accidentally found.


One thing I can say for a fact is that this reminded me alot of 'The Addams Family'.

The characters submersive and suspensful personalities and actions gave me those kind of vibes. I can't remember (school book, and I just turned it in, so I can't go back) but it was this character that reminded me of Wednsday Addams, along with her mother.


Anyway, I enjoyed this a fair bit more than I'd thought I would, although it wasn't as good and catching as the title lead me for it to be. Four stars.


🎄🎄🎄🎄





5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page