top of page

With The Fire on High by Elizabeth Acevedo


Spoiler-Free Synopsis

Ever since she got pregnant freshman year, Emoni Santiago’s life has been about making the tough decisions—doing what has to be done for her daughter and her abuela. The one place she can let all that go is in the kitchen, where she adds a little something magical to everything she cooks, turning her food into straight-up goodness.


Even though she dreams of working as a chef after she graduates, Emoni knows that it’s not worth her time to pursue the impossible. Yet despite the rules she thinks she has to play by, once Emoni starts cooking, her only choice is to let her talent break free.




 

Elizabeth is now one one my favorite authors.

Literally.


First of all, when I tell you the writing style and chapter style throughout the book just entirely reminded me of myself.


Like, entirely. And I know I've stated this before, I have no idea what book it was tbh, but when I tell you I'm dead serious this time, I mean it.


I loved the subtle recipes throughout the book, it's probably one of the best parts of the book, along with the, drumroll please...



SLOW BURN!


Like, come on! If you've read this before, you probably know what I'm talking about. And it's not like it's an enemies to lovers, nor friends to lovers slowburn, either. It's a complicated category. Like, I kinda don't know what to label it under.


Watching the struggle of a teen parent in high school was something I enjoyed reading about, and no in the phsycotic way, either.

Many authors like to talk about primarily the struggles, but Elizabeth mangaged to smush the struggle AND positivity throughout! Such as the joys of actually being a mother; having a person to love and care for, excited to watch her grow. And the obstacles she is facing as a Teen Mom as-is; Having to put her daughter first often times, miss out on certain opportunites, work harder than she needs, etc. And not only did Emoni come with struggles, but she also came with trauma.


Some books I've read don't describe how a teen pregnancy really happen. The primarily try to keep the kid out of the way and just add it to add what they call "Flavour". Emoni came with trust issues, which became a thing from the first place I thought of: Her pregnancy. The guy she'd had a kid with kind of, basically, forced her to have sex with him, when she wasn't ready.

Over time, we learn that he may be a good father to his child, but not much of a good partner.


NOW CAN WE TALK ABOUT MALACHI?



Not that at all he's like another boyfriend to the collection, but he's like, sly??


I don't know, but the way Elizabeth described him BENDING OVER TO REACH EMONIS HEIGHT AND WHISPER CERTAIN THINGS (not dirty things, get the mind outta the gutter, lol); just things towards excitment, like her cooking class. LIKE-- AHHHH


But anyway, Emoni also thought he was gonna use those techniques to over time persuade her into sleeping with him, when he in fact DID NOT! HA! So when they began dating and taking it slow, I was hella excited.

Like I was reading this in class, and if you could see me reading the few pages they'd kiss, you'd see this, I'm pretty sure:


But anyway, I really did enjoy this read.

Now if you don't mind, time for me to read another book by her: Clap When You Land : )



🎃🎃🎃🎃🎃

(oh, yes the pumpkins are back)

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page